Cyanocobalamin injection, anyone?!

That’ll be a hell yes from me and I want to share my ‘why’ behind my love for B12 injections. Vitamin B12 does a lot of great things for our bodies, but we can’t make it ourselves because B12 is only naturally found in animal products. B12 can be added to certain foods and is available as an oral supplement or an injection, but getting the appropriate amount from those avenues alone can be difficult. Vegetarians, Vegans, and pregnant or breastfeeding moms are the most likely people to have a B12 deficiency, although it can affect anyone, due to the difficulty of absorbing the amount our bodies need. This is why the injection is the best way to supplement that deficiency. Not only are you able to get the right amount instantaneously, the injections bypass our digestive system and is able to be absorbed straight into our blood stream. 

So, what are signs of B12 deficiency? Here are a few that I experience:

  • Fatigue
  • Mood changes
  • Inability to focus
  • Dizziness 

Originally, I got B12 injections just to help with my energy, as running a small business can be quite exhausting with a never-ending list of things to get done. After about a year of receiving them I have experienced so many more benefits than just a boost of energy. I got my first ever blood test that didn’t show I was anemic, my mood stabilized (especially around my menstrual cycle), I sleep more soundly, wake up easier and have better concentration. I can tell when it’s time for my B12, which I generally get every other week, mainly by my mood + sleep. I start to feel moodier + my sleep isn’t as restful towards the end of the two weeks in between my injections. But the benefits people have can range + there are so many different additives to B12 to boost the injection.

Here is a list of benefits you may experience after getting a B12 injection:

  • Helps with red blood cell formation and anemia prevention
  • May prevent major birth defects
  • May support bone health and prevent osteoporosis
  • May reduce your risk of macular degeneration 
  • May improve mood and symptoms of depression
  • May benefit your brain by preventing the loss of neurons
  • May give you an energy boost
  • May improve heart health by decreasing homocysteine
  • Supports healthy hair, skin, nails 

Pretty cool, right?! The injection is super quick and for the most part pretty painless. The only time I’ve been like… “OOOF, I feel that” is when I get a folate additive, as apparently folate can be a little “burny”. Other than that; it’s easy, quick and painless and the best way to get the right amount of B12 and the ability to experience the benefits listed above. A few of the girls at the salon have been getting them with me occasionally and also love them, and it’s cool to see how we all benefit differently from the different injections we get. 

I totally recommend finding a naturopathic clinic in your area and trying one out, if you’ve ever experienced a dip in energy. Especially around this time of year, where the seasonal depression can kick in and all we want to do is snuggle at home by a fire… I mean that sounds really nice, but I’m here to make a difference and I can’t do that from my couch, so I’ll take all the natural help I can get, how about you?!

Published by bholisticallywealthycom1154

I am a holistic master stylist and salon owner from central California. I am passionate about clean beauty and living a holistically wealthy life. I have researched and sourced some of the best products and practices for a sustainably eco-conscious life and I want to share everything I've learned on my journey. Please join me, i'd love the company!

Leave a comment